Skip to main content


Jane Martin Poetry Prize Evening 2024

Jane Martin Poetry Prize

The Jane Martin Poetry Prize is a national poetry competition, established in 2010, in memory of Girton alumna, Jane Elizabeth Martin (1978 Classics) through the generous support of Professor Sir Laurence Martin.

Now in its 14th year, this national prize for early career poets is a key part of the College’s support for poetry and will be of interest to all those who are serious about literary excellence. The competition has been judged by experts drawn from across the literary world and academia. This year’s panel has been led by two judges – Abigail Parry and Bohdan Piasecki.

Further information on the competition can be found here.

The programme for the event will be as follows. 

5.45pm - Drinks to be served in the Stanley Library

6.00pm - Welcome and presentation of prizes (the Mistress in association with Dr James Wade, Jane Elisabeth Martin Official Fellow in English). 

6.10pm - Luke Dunne (1st prize) to read his prize winning poem

6.20pm - Neva Ensminger (2nd prize) to read her winning poems

6.30pm - Judges, Abigail Parry and Bohdan Piasecki, to discuss judging process and do a reading of their poems

6.50pm - Vote of thanks from the Mistress

6.55pm -  Drinks